imperfect offering

just what I always wanted

Posted on: July 27, 2006

more finds from the digital frontier: the latest edition of firefox has a bunch of new toys called extension (about 1800 of them, in fact) that you can add on at will. Some are more fun than useful, like my Homestar Runner toolbar, thank you very much.

some still need tweaking, like performancing, which is a robust “blog it” kind of button allowing for easy posting, but while it works with my blogger account, it doesn’t recognize my login for wordpress.

some I’m not wholly convinced of their utility, but I’m willling to waste many hours of assessment. Like “jet eye.” You create an account, and the jet eye window sits where your history window might. When you come across a cool page, you can drop the link, or bits of text or a picture or whatever into a “jet pack.” This can then be shown, modified, and shared with others. Kind of like a free floating collective blog/wiki. Something appealing about this to me. Not sure what to do with it yet.

But Diigo! Diigo lets you annotate webpages, among other things. You create an account (all of these accounts are free), and then while you’re viesing a web page, you can highlight a bunch of text and, in effect, leave a permanent sticky note on that site, so whenever you view it, you can view your annotation. You can also make these annotations public to other diigo users.

I have wanted a tool like this for at least five years. This changes everything.

4 Responses to "just what I always wanted"

i hope this isn’t just a mac thing.

heh heh, *thought* you might like these.
pretty sure firefox works on all platforms, so if you can run firefox, you can definitely play with these toys. I’m not entirely sure that you’re restricted from having a jet pack or diigo account if you’re not running firefox. i’ll send you some stuff and we can find out!

i’m all about the firefox. how could i not love a browser named after my favourite element and my favourite animal? firefox away, parrishka!!

I’ve seen also some great xtensions like keyword highlighting or showing PR! Firefox rulez!

Leave a comment